Spirit is produced by James Ford and out next spring


Depeche Mode have announced a new album. It’s called Spirit, and it’s tentatively out sometime in spring 2017. The album is produced by Simian Mobile Disco’s James Ford. Spirit follows the band’s recent announcement of Video Singles Collection, their anthology of music videos and commentary from throughout their career. They shared a sample of the new record during a press conference in Milan. Watch it below.

At the conference, they also announced plans to tour in support of the record on the Global Spirit Tour. The tour, which begins next May, will be 32 shows long in 21 stadiums. Tickets go on sale this week. Some of the proceeds will go toward charity: water. Find the full dates below.

Spirit will mark Depeche Mode’s 14th studio album, and their first since 2013’s Delta Machine.

Read our interview with Depeche Mode vocalist Dave Gahan.


Depeche Mode:

05-05 Stockholm, Sweden – Friends Arena
05-07 Amsterdam, Netherlands – Ziggo Dome
05-09 Antwerp, Belgium – Sportpaleis
05-12 Nice, France – Stade Charles-Ehrmann
05-14 Ljubljana, Slovenia – Dvorana Stožice
05-17 Athens, Greece – Terra Vibe Park
05-20 Bratislava, Slovakia – Štadión Pasienky
05-22 Budapest, Hungary – Groupama Aréna
05-24 Prague, Czech Republic – Eden Aréna
05-27 Leipzig, Germany – Festwiese
05-29 Lille, France – Stade Pierre-Mauroy
05-31 Copenhagen, Denmark – Telia Parken
06-03 London, England – London Stadium
06-05 Cologne, Germany – RheinEnergieStadion
06-09 Munich, Germany – Olympiastadion
06-11 Hannover, Germany – HDI Arena
06-18 Zurich, Switzerland – Letzigrund Stadion
06-20 Frankfurt, Germany – Commerzbank-Arena
06-22 Berlin, Germany – Olympiastadion
06-25 Rome, Italy – Stadio Olimpico
06-27 Milan, Italy – Stadio San Siro
06-29 Bologna, Italy – Stadio Rentao Dall’Ara
07-01 Paris, France – Stade de France
07-04 Gelsenkirchen, Germany – Veltins-Arena
07-06 Bilbao, Spain – BBK Live Festival
07-08 Lisbon, Portugal – NOS Alive Festival
07-13 St. Petersburg, Russia – SKK
07-15 Moscow, Russia – Otkritie Arena
07-17 Minsk, Belarus – Minsk-Arena
07-19 Kiev, Ukraine – Olimpiyskiy National Sports Complex
07-21 Warsaw, Poland – PGE Narodowy
07-23 Cluj-Napoca, Romania – Cluj Arena