Recently we premiered a fanastic re-working of Aretha Franklin’s “Respect” with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

The song is featured on upcoming album A Brand New Me, which combines classic vocals by the Queen of Soul with new arrangements by the RPO.

We’re now delighted to reveal a video for the RPO’s version of “Respect” which shows some gorgeous archive footage of Franklin performing live, along with the orchestra adding the lush new arrangements at Abbey Road Studios in London.

The 50th anniversary of Franklin’s historic signing to Atlantic Records is being celebrated with the new release.

A Brand New Me was produced by Nick Patrick and Don Reedman, the men behind If I Can Dream: Elvis Presley With The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, which recently topped the charts in multiple countries and sold more than 1.5 million copies.

Patrick says: “There is a reason that Aretha Franklin is called the ‘Queen of Soul.’ There is nothing more exciting than that incredible voice taking you on an emotional roller coaster ride through her amazing repertoire of songs. To have the opportunity to work with that voice on this project has been the greatest honour and to hear a symphony orchestra wrapped around those performances is breathtaking.”

Reedman adds: “I was 15 years old when a song came on the radio called ‘Rock A Bye Your Baby With A Dixie Melody.’ It blew me away; the power, the soul. The feeling that went through me got me hooked on Aretha and I have been ever since. To be able to make this album and be able to select songs from hits like ‘Respect’ to ‘Think’ then blend them with classic songs like ‘Let It Be’ and ‘Border Song’ and create an album which is versatile and fresh is truly an honuor.”

Williams, Managing Director of The Royal Philharmonic says: “The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra is thrilled to perform on this new recording, combining Aretha Franklin’s iconic voice with lush new arrangements of her greatest hit songs for full orchestra, bringing a whole new generation to the music of this legendary performer.”

The full tracklist on the CD version is as follows

1. “Think”

2. “Don’t Play That Song (You Lied)”

3. “I Say A Little Prayer”

4. “Until You Come Back To Me (That’s What I’m Gonna Do)”

5. “A Brand New Me”

6. “A Natural Woman (You Make Me Feel Like)”

7. “Angel”

8. “Border Song (Holy Moses)”

9. “Let It Be”

10. “People Get Ready”

11. “Oh Me Oh My (I’m A Fool For You Baby)”

12. “You’re All I Need To Get By”

13. “Son Of A Preacher Man”

14. “Respect”

A Brand New Me: Aretha Franklin with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, is available On CD, LP, And Digitally On November 24